
Why do I need a burn permit?
In most cases when burning materials in the open, an open 
burning permit from the Arizona Department of Environmen-
tal Quality (ADEQ) is required by law (please refer to Arizona 
Revised Statutes § 49-501 and Arizona Administrative Code R18-
2-602).  These laws are intended to help protect the public from 
smoke impacts.

How long is a burn permit good for?

The permit is good for one year from the date of issuance.

How much does a burn permit cost?

ADEQ does not charge a fee for issuing open burn permits.

How long does it take before I receive my burn 
permit?
Complete open burn permit applications will be processed 
and mailed within 7 business days of receipt. Incomplete 
applications will result in a deficiency letter being sent within 7 
business days of receipt.

Note:  SUBMITTAL OF A COMPLETE OPEN BURN PERMIT 
APPLICATION IS NECESSARY TO ENABLE THE PERMIT ISSUING 
AUTHORITY TO ISSUE THE PERMIT IN A TIMELY MANNER.

Can I use a burn barrel for burning?
No, only approved waste burners are allowed.  An approved 
waste burner means an incinerator constructed of fire resistant 
material with a cover or screen that is closed when in use, and 
has opening in the sides or top no greater than one inch in 
diameter.

Can I burn trash?
No, household trash is generally to be disposed of through 
waste collection or disposal service in your area.

However, as per Arizona Administrative Code (AAC) R18-2-
602.F.1 and 2, burning of household trash may be permitted in 
the following situations:

•	If the household waste is generated on-site on a farm 
or ranch of 40 acres or more where no household waste 
collection or disposal service is available. 

•	If the household waste is generated on-site where no 
household waste collection and disposal service is avail-
able, and where the nearest other dwelling unit is at least 
500 feet away. 

In both these cases, an open burning permit must be obtained 
and the household waste must be burned in an approved 
waste burner.  An approved waste burner means an incinerator 
constructed of fire resistant material with a cover or screen that 
is closed when in use, and has opening in the sides or top no 
greater than one inch in diameter.

Do I need the parcel number of my property?
Yes, if you do not have an address for the property.
Please see item 2 of the open burn permit application.

 
 
How do I know where to send my application?

ADEQ has delegated its burn permit authority to many 
local fire departments and other local governments 
(please see ADEQ Delegated Fire Departments List).  If your 
burn location does not fall under any of the delegated 
authorities, please apply to the appropriate address: 

 
If the burning is to be conducted in 
Apache, Coconino, Gila, La Paz, Mohave, Navajo, Yavapai 
Counties, please mail/fax to:

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
ATTN:  Air Quality Division
1110 W. Washington Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone#: (602) 771-2338 • Fax #: (602) 771-4346 
Toll Free#: 1-800-234-5677

If the burning is to be conducted in 
Cochise, Greenlee, Graham, or Santa Cruz Counties, please 
mail/fax to:

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Southern Regional Office
400 W. Congress, Suite 433
Tucson, AZ 85701
Phone #: (520) 628-6733 • Fax #: (520) 628-6745 
Toll Free#: 1-800-271-9302

For Maricopa, Pima, Pinal, and Yuma Counties, please visit 
the respective county’s website:

Maricopa County Air Quality Department 
Phone: (602) 506-6010
http://www.maricopa.gov/aq/divisions/compliance/dust/
open_burning/

Pima County Department of Environmental Quality 
Phone: (520) 243-7400
http://www.deq.co.pima.az.us/air/OpenBurning.htm

Pinal County Air Quality Department
Phone: (520) 866-6929
http://pinalcountyaz.gov/Departments/AirQuality/Pages/
BurnPermits.aspx

Yuma County Rural/Metro Fire Department
Phone: (928) 782-4757
http://www.co.yuma.az.us/Modules/ShowDocument.
aspx?documentid=5218

For additional information, please see the ADEQ Open Burn Permit 
Brochure and see the ADEQ Guidelines for Open Burning.

Burn Permit FAQ’s

http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/49/00501.htm&Title=49&DocType=ARS
http://www.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_18/18-02.htm#pgfId-4547
http://azdeq.gov/environ/air/permits/download/openburn.pdf
http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/air/permits/download/ob_brochure.pdf
http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/air/permits/burngd.html
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