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Does my new car need to be 
tested?
New cars are not required to be tested un-
til they have been registered for five years. 
Find more details at www.myAZcar.com.

Where do I go to have my car 
tested?
Emissions testing is available at any 
of the Phoenix metropolitan area and 
Tucson area inspection stations. For 
locations and current traffic at a station 
located near you, click on www.myAZcar.
com.

What do I do if my vehicle fails?
If your vehicle fails the test you must have 
it repaired and reinspected. The reinspec-
tion is free if you return within 60 days of 
your original or subsequent paid test with 
the repair information completed on the 
back of the vehicle inspection report. 

Can I help my vehicle pass?
Yes. Vehicles benefit from regular tune-
ups, oil and filter changes, and generally 
good maintenance. When going for an 
emissions test, have the vehicle thor- 
oughly warmed up. If it has been serviced 
(especially service requiring the battery 
to be disconnected) drive the vehicle for 
a few days to enable the computer and 
On-board diagnostic (OBD) monitors (if 
your car has them) to reset.
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What does the gas cap have to 
do with emissions testing?
Most vehicles have a “closed fuel system.” 
With the gas cap in place there is moder-
ate pressure in the fuel tank and lines. 
This pressure is part of the emissions 
control system. If the cap cannot main-
tain pressure in the system, the air/fuel 
mixture can be compromised, resulting in 
elevated emissions.

Do alternative fueled vehicles 
need to be tested?
All alternative fuel vehicles (except 
electric, solar and hydrogen powered) 
registered in or used to commute into 
metro Phoenix or Tucson are required to 
be tested for emissions before the vehicle 
can be registered.

How do I know if my vehicle is an 
alternative fueled vehilce?
Alternative fueled vehicles are vehicles that 
use forms of energy other than conven-
tional gasoline and diesel fuel. A detailed 
definition is found in Arizona Revised Stat-
utes (A.R.S.) § 1-215.4. Pursuant to Arizona 
Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 28-2416, in order 
to qualify for an alternative fuel special 
plate, the vehicle must be exclusively pow-
ered by one of the alternative fuels identi-
fied in Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 
1-215.4, and be incapable of operating on 
any other type of fuel.

Hybrid vehicles do not qualify for an alter-
native fuel special plate but instead may 
qualify for an energy efficient plate. To 
see if your vehicle qualifies for an energy 
efficient plate visit:
http://servicearizona.com/content/
SAZHighlightEE2014

How do I find a good repair facility?
The State of Arizona cannot recommend 
individual repair facilities. However, the 
Vehicle Emissions program tracks repair 
information on vehicles that have failed 
the test. You can review the effectiveness 
of repair facilities in your area at 
www.myAZcar.com by clicking the tab 
“Locate a Repair Facility” on the right. 

My vehicle is due for inspection, 
but it is out of state. What do I do?
If your vehicle is out of the State of 
Arizona 90 days before your registration 
expires, you must do one of the following. 

1.	If your vehicle is in an area that has 
an inspection program, you must 
have the vehicle tested and submit 
the passing inspection report.  

2.	If your vehicle is in an area that does 
not have an inspection program, you 
may submit an “Out of State Exemp-
tion” application. 

For more information see: 
http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/air/vei/ 
exempt.html#out
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Where can I report a smoking 
vehicle?
Maricopa County operates a program to 
notify owners when their vehicles have 
been emitting excessive smoke.

To report a smoking vehicle in Maricopa 
County, call (602) 372-2703, or visit:
www.maricopa.gov/aq/contact_us/ 
report_violation.aspx. 

I am new to Arizona. What do I 
do to register my car here?
If you reside in the emission control 
areas of Pima or Maricopa counties, you 
should have your vehicle emissions-test-
ed first. Check www.myAZcar.com to see 
if your car is required to be tested. Then 
take your passing test result and your 
vehicle to any MVD office to register in 
Arizona. You can look for an MVD office 
at: www.azdot.gov/mvd/index.asp. 

How much does an emissions 
test cost?
Fees vary by location and vehicle size and 
type. A complete schedule of the test 
fees can be found at www.myAZcar.com. 

What is OBD and how does it 
work?
On-board diagnostic systems (OBD) 
were devel- oped in the 1980s to help 
technicians diagnose and service 
the computerized engine systems of 
modern vehicles. A new generation of 
these systems is found on 1996 and 
newer light duty vehicles (8500 pounds 
gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) and 
less). These systems monitor the same 
components, use the same computer 

“language” and have the same criteria 
for evaluating the systems and for indi-
cating the problems to the driver and 
the repair technician.

The OBD system provides drivers with 
an early warning of malfunctions 
through a dashboard “Check Engine” 
light (also known as a Malfunction Indi-
cator Light or MIL). This early-warning 
light helps protect the environment and 
identifies problems before they become 
major repair bills.

Why does OBD testing replace 
tailpipe testing on newer 
vehicles?
The OBD II system is required on 1996 
and newer light duty vehicles (8500 
pounds GVWR and less). While the tail-
pipe test looks at the vehicle exhaust to 
determine if the vehicle is running effi-
ciently, OBD testing looks at the param-
eters of the engine to ensure optimum 
efficiency. OBD often identifies failing 
components before a tailpipe emis-
sions test would fail. This often allows 
for repair at a much lower cost than a 
malfunctioning component damaging 
the engine or catalytic converter. 

How does the driver know 
there is a problem?
When the OBD system determines 
that a problem exists, a corresponding 
“Diagnostic Trouble Code” is stored in 
the computer memory. The computer 
also illuminates the dashboard “Check 
Engine” light, informing the driver that 
service is needed. If the light is flashing, 
the problem is serious and needs im-
mediate attention. 

Where can I get more 
information?

Go to: www.myAZcar.com for more in-
formation, to find an inspection station, 
repair facility, test fees, exemptions and 
much more.

ADEQ has an On-Board Diagnostics 
(OBD) informational brochure and an 
On-Board Diagnostics (OBD) For Ve-
hicles fact sheet that are also available. 
They can be found on the ADEQ Web 
site www.azdeq.gov, and click on the 
heading “Brochures & Fact Sheets.”

For vehicle specific information, or for 
information not covered in the above 
resources you may contact Vehicle 
Emissions Inspection Program staff in 
Phoenix at 10210 N. 23rd Avenue, (602) 
944-0383 or 4949 E. Madison Street, 
(602) 275-1144 or in Tucson at 3931 N. 
Business Center Drive, (520) 887-5191.


