
 

OUT OF STATE EXEMPTION 
APPLICATION  FOR OUT OF STATE EXEMPTION 
ARIZONA VEHICLE EMISSIONS INSPECTION PROGRAM 

 
If your vehicle will be out of the State of Arizona longer than 90 days before your registration expires, you may qualify for an out of 
state exemption. To apply, you must do one of the following (as applicable): 
1) If the vehicle is located in an area that has an emissions inspection program, you must have the vehicle tested there and submit a 

passing Vehicle Inspection Report (original, not a copy); or 
2) If the vehicle is located in an area that does not have emissions inspection program, or does not perform inspections on the 

vehicle described below, you must complete the Affidavit portion of this form and have the Out-Of-State Verification portion 
of this form completed by a local law enforcement official or Department of Motor Vehicles official.   This  form must be 
completely filled out. 

NOTE: Out of State Exemptions are issued for a period of one year only. 
 

Send t h e  f o l l o w i n g  t o  t h e  a p p r o p r i a t e  a d d r e s s  b e l o w :  
1)  T his original ( completed)application or a pa ssing VIR (if applicable),  
2) Exemption fee of $9.50 (check/money order payable to ADEQ, showing the imprinted name and physical address  

                       of the customer – no post office boxes),  
3) A copy of the Arizona registration renewal form, and  
4) A self-addressed/stamped envelope. 

 
Arizona Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program 

                                                              (for Phoenix area residents)                        (for Tucson area residents) 
                                                   1110 W. Washington Street                       4040 E. 29th Street 
                                                        Phoenix, AZ 85007                             Tucson, AZ 85711 

                                                        602-771-3950                                      520-628-6036 
 

                                                                        When approved, an out of state exemption certificate will be sent to you. 
                                                                      Include the certificate with the vehicle registration renewal, and mail to the Motor Vehicle Division. 

 
AFFIDAVIT 

Make: Model: Year: VIN: 

License Plate: State: Registration Month: 

Registered to: Date vehicle left the State of Arizona: 

AZ physical address (no Post Office boxes): Out of State physical address: 

City: City and County: 

State, Zip: State, Zip: 

Telephone number and E-mail address (if available): 

I certify that the above information is accurate to the best of my knowledge and is made under penalty of perjury. 
 
Signature of Owner/Operator: Date: 

OUT-of-STATE VERIFICATION 
To obtain an exemption from emissions testing, Arizona law requires that the owner have a local law enforcement official or Department of Motor 
Vehicles official verify that the vehicle described hereon is at the city/state claimed above. 
I verify that the vehicle described above is currently located in this city/state. 
 
Signature: Date: 

Agency: Telephone Number: 

Name: Badge Number: 
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