Waste Programs Division: Federal Sites

Some sites in Arizona are governed and funded by the federal Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act of 1980 (CERCLA), commonly known as Superfund. Sites that pose the greatest potential threat to human health and the environment are put on the National Priorities List (NPL). There are nine NPL Superfund sites in Arizona, two of which are divided into north and south portions. In addition to the NPL and the WQARF Registry sites, the Superfund Programs Section also provides state review and oversight at 12 Department of Defense (DoD) sites.

U.S. EPA National Priorities List (NPL) Sites

The National Priority List is the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) list of the most serious uncontrolled or abandoned hazardous waste sites identified for possible long-term remedial response under Superfund. Inclusion of a site on the list is based primarily on the score the site receives under the Hazard Ranking System. Money from Superfund can be used for cleanup only at sites that are on the NPL.

Delisted U.S. EPA National Priorities List (NPL) Sites

Superfund Alternative Sites

Department of Defense (DOD) Sites

The Department of Defense sites are those sites that are located at either active duty bases or bases being closed under the Base Realignment and Closure (BRAC) regulations and Formerly Used Defense sites that are eligible for funding under the Installation Restoration Program as overseen by ADEQ.

KC135 Stratotanker used to refuel aircraft

Delisted U.S. EPA National Priorities List (NPL) Sites

Map of NPL/DOD Sites

Statewide Map

For National Priority List (NPL) Superfund sites and Department of Defense (DOD) sites, the site map may not illustrate the boundary of known contamination.

For more detail on individual site maps, please visit Google Maps . Once there, plug in cross streets and acquire more detailed street names.