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Reporting and Investigating Suspected Underground Storage Tank (UST) Releases

Reporting a Suspected UST Release

A UST owner/operator is required to report any suspected UST release to ADEQ within 24 hours after discovery, pursuant to Arizona
Administrative Code (A.A.C.) R18-12-251(B). Upon receipt of adequate suspected UST release information, ADEQ will issue a
suspected UST release notification letter to the UST owner/operator. This letter contains reporting requirements, due dates and
relevant form(s) for the UST owner/operator’s information. If the suspected release is a regulated UST spill or overfill of 25 gallons or
less, that is contained or cleaned up within 24 hours, the UST owner/operator is not required to report the incident to ADEQ.

Suspected Release 14-Day Report

According to A.A.C. R18-12-251(E), an UST owner/operator is required to submit a report to ADEQ within 14 calendar days after the
suspected release discovery date or the suspected release notification date, whichever is earlier. To meet this requirement, the UST
owner/operator may either use the Release Status Report attached to the above referenced ADEQ letter, or they may create their own
report form. Regardless of the report’s format, it must contain the information referenced in Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) § 49-
1004(C) and A.A.C. R18-12-260(C).

Suspected Release 90-Day Report

According to A.A.C. R18-12-251(C) and (F), an UST owner/operator is required to submit a report to ADEQ within 90 calendar days
of receipt of the above referenced ADEQ notification letter. The 90-Day Report must contain the information referenced in A.A.C.
R18-12-251(C) and (F). Based upon the type of suspected UST release, ADEQ may require the UST owner/operator to submit
information such as tank tightness test results, product piping test results, soil sampling and laboratory analytical report information,
tank repair documentation, etc.

Confirming a UST Release

The investigation of a suspected UST release may be show that the release is confirmed as a leaking UST (LUST) release. If this
occurs, according to A.R.S. 8 49-1004, the UST owner/operator must notify ADEQ of the confirmed LUST release within 24 hours of
discovery. Furthermore, the UST owner/operator must take immediate action to stop the LUST release pursuant to A.R.S. § 49-1005.
Actions to protect the environment may include, but not be limited to, removing any remaining product from the tank, recovering
released product, or placing absorbent berms around contaminated material. Actions to protect human health may include preventing
fire, explosion or vapor hazards.

More Information Regulatory Citations
For more information, please contact Nick Giuntoli at ADEQ. Avrizona Revised Statutes - Title 49, Chapter 6, Article 1
By U.S. Mail: A.R.S. §49-1004 - Reporting Requirements
ADEQ A.R.S. §49-1005 - Corrective Action
UST Program #4415A-3
1110 W. Washington Street Arizona Administrative Code Title 18 Chapter 12
Phoenix, Arizona 85007 R18-12-251 — Suspected Release
R18-12-260 — Release Notification and Reporting
By Telephone:
(602) 771-4289 or ADEQ UST Forms and Guidance
Toll free at (800) 234-5677 Ext. 771-4289 Release Reporting Form
Hearing impaired persons call Release Status Report
ADEQ's TDD line: (602) 771-4829 Document Submittal Form
By Email:
nmg@azdeq.gov

NOTE: This document is not a substitute for the regulations. When a UST owner/operator discovers a suspected UST release, compliance with the applicable provisions in A.R.S. § 49 Chapter
6, and A.A.C. R18 Chapter 12, is mandatory. This fact sheet is intended solely to provide basic guidance.
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http://www.azleg.state.az.us/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp?Title=49
http://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_18/18-12.pdf
https://www.azdeq.gov/environ/waste/ust/formsandguidance.html

