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• Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.) Title 18, Chapter 9

http://www.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_18/18_table.htm

• Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) Title 49, Chapter 2, Article 3

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp?Title=49

Rules & Regulations

http://www.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_18/18_table.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp?Title=49


Why an APP?
• §49-224(B)

All aquifers in Arizona are classified for 
drinking water protected use

• §49-221(D)
Both numeric and narrative standards can be 
applied



The big one…

• §49-243(B)(2)&(3)
Pollutants discharged will in no event cause or 
contribute to a violation of AWQS at the 
applicable POC and no pollutants discharged 
will further degrade at the applicable POC the 
quality of any aquifer that at the time of the 
issuance of the permit violates the AWQS for 
that pollutant



Definitions
• A.R.S. §49-201 & A.A.C. R18-9-101

-Make sure your definition matches our 
definition

-Do not get lost in terminology 
What is a discharge?



Do I need a permit?
Am I planning to discharge anything 
other than storm water?

Is my “facility” listed under § 49-241? 

Do I qualify for an exemption under 
§ 49-250?

Do I have a drywell that drains an area 
with pollutants present?



Categorical Discharging Facilities
• Surface impoundments
• Solid waste disposal facilities
• Injection wells
• Land treatment facilities
• Facilities that add pollutant to 

salt dome, salt bed, drywell 
or underground cave or mine

• Mine tailings piles and ponds



Categorical Discharging Facilities
• Mine leaching operations
• Underground water storage facilities
• Point source discharges to navigable 

waters
• Sewage treatment facilities
• Wetlands that treat municipal or industrial 

wastewater for underground storage



What kind of permit do I need?
–Individual Permit

• Amendments (Minor, Other, Significant)
–Temporary Individual Permit
–Reclaimed Water Permit
–General Permits

• Type 1
• Type 2 (2, 5 or 7 years)
• Type 3 (5 years)
• Type 4 (not covered)

–Clean Closures
–Permit Releases



The Pre-application Meeting
–One hour of one staff 
member’s time free to 
help you (R18-14-102[B][1])

–Present site-specific 
information along with 
your plan of 
construction, expansion, 
etc.

–Receive guidance as 
to what permit you will 
need and what to 
submit with your 
application



Do not ride a slow 
turtle backwards 
through the 
permitting process!

Words of Wisdom



The Individual APP 
• Valid for the life of the facility
• Requires five components

1. Best Available 
Demonstrated Control 
Technology (BADCT)

2. Compliance with Aquifer 
Water Quality Standards 
(AWQS) at the Point of 
Compliance (POC)

3. Technical Capability
4. Financial Capability
5. Zoning



BADCT 
Best available demonstrated control 
technology, process, operating method, 
or other alternative to achieve the 
greatest degree of discharge reduction 
determined for a facility by the Director 
under A.R.S. §49-243

– For WWTPs – 208 must be submitted
– Only presumptive BADCT adopted by rule is 

Sewage Treatment Facilities R18-9-B201 
through B206



AWQS at the POC 
• No facility can exceed AWQS at the 

POC. The POC must be located to 
ensure protection of all current and 
reasonably foreseeable future uses 
of the aquifer.

• This applies to conditions at the 
time the original APP is issued.



Technical Capability R18-9-A202(B)
• Submit demonstrations on each 

person involved in the design, 
construction, and operation of the 
facility

Note: for WWTPs, please submit 
operator certification or type of 
operator that will be hired



Cost Estimates R18-9-A201(B)(5)
Estimates must be prepared by an 
engineer, controller, or accountant 
using competitive bids, construction 
plan take-offs, specifications, 
operating history for similar 
facilities, or other appropriate 
sources, as applicable 

» Include closure and post-closure costs
» For WWTPs, also include first year of O&M



Accepted Financial 
Mechanisms

1. Financial test for self-assurance
2. Performance surety bond
3. Certificate of deposit
4. Trust fund
5. Letter of credit
6. Insurance policy
7. Cash deposit
8. Guarantees
9. Other method, if approved by the Director



Zoning R18-9-A201(B)(3)
Unless your facility is a mine 
including more than five contiguous 
acres, you must provide proper 
zoning documentation



Help Speed the Process 
• Read the regulations and rules and please, ask 

questions
• Applicants should understand what they are 

signing off on with respect to the draft APP
• The more complete your application is, the less 

time it will take to process
• Submit stamped studies, designs 

and calculations
IM A.

ENGINEER



APP Components 

• Facility descriptions
• BADCT (design, construction, operational 

controls)
• Groundwater quality monitoring 
• Contingency plans
• Record keeping and reporting 
• Closure & post-closure plans
• Compliance schedule
• Discharge limitations



The Temporary Individual APP 

• A.A.C. R18-9-A210
• Valid for 1 year with an option to renew for 1 

additional year
• Applies to pilot projects OR discharges 

lasting no more than 6 months
• Temporary Individual APPs can be 

amended, but the maximum life of the permit 
is 2 years



Type 2 General Permits 

• Type 2.01 – Drywells where hazardous 
substances are present

• Type 2.02 – Intermediate Stockpiles at 
Mining Sites

• Type 2.03 – Hydrologic Tracer Studies
• Type 2.04 – Drywells where motor fuel is 

present
• Type 2.05 – will not cover (different section)
• Type 2.06 – Fish Hatchery Discharge to a 

Perennial Surface Water



Type 3 General Permits 

• Type 3.01 – Lined Impoundments
• Type 3.02 – Process Water Discharges from 

Water Treatment Facilities
• Type 3.03 – Vehicle and Equipment Washes
• Type 3.04 – Non-stormwater Impoundments 

at Mining Sites
• Type 3.05 – Disposal Wetlands
• Type 3.06 – Constructed Wetlands to Treat 

Acid Rock Drainage at Mining Sites
• Type 3.07 – Tertiary Treatment Wetlands



Clean Closures
Do you have an APP permit already?
Are you clean closing a drywell?

If you do not already have an APP and 
the facility is not a drywell, you need an 
Individual APP! 

Note: APP determines closure as 
compared to GPLs. SRLs are regulated 
under the Soil Rule.



Permit Releases
If you have completed all closure and 
post-closure activities required by your 
APP, you can apply for a permit release.

ADEQ cannot issue a permit release if 
there is ongoing monitoring at the 
permitted facility.  



Maximum Fees
A.R.S. §49-241.02 & A.A.C. R18-14-102

Billing rate is $61 per hour

Individual or Area-wide APP $100,000
Complex Modification $100,000
Standard Modification $15,000
Annual Registration $25 to $8,500

Clean Closure $35,000

(based on design flow)



Type 2 General Permit $300 flat
Type 3 General Permit $1500 flat

Type 2 General Permit $120 flat
Type 3 General Permit $500 flat

Type 2 General Permit $50 flat
Type 3 General Permit $50 flat

Renewal Fees

Transfer Fees

Application Fees



Licensing Time Frame (LTF)
R18-1-525 Table 10
•Individual APP and Significant Amendments

– no public hearing 221 
– public hearing 266

•Complex Individual APP and Complex Significant Amendments
– no public hearing 284 
– public hearing 329

•Other Amendment 135

•Temporary Individual APP 180

•Type 3 General Permit 81



Licensing Time Frame 
A.R.S. §41-1072 through 1079

Administrative Phase (21 to 35 days)
– Existing permit and file review
– Ensure all existing Compliance Schedules Items have 

been completed
– Check that all information required to process the 

application is included
– If deficiencies are found, a Notice of Administrative 

Deficiencies will be issued (LTF clock is stopped)

Substantive Phase (60 to 294 days)
– The Technical Support Unit reviews the application
– A Comprehensive Request for Additional Information 

is issued, if necessary (LTF clock is stopped)
– If an inadequate response is received, other deficiency 

letters will be issued and the LTF clock is rolled back 
to the date of the first notice



Licensing Time Frame
Also under the Substantive Phase:

– Permit drafting/finalization
– Internal/External Review of APP
– Public notice (30 calendar days) is required for APPs, 

except Other Amendments and General Permits 
(A.A.C. R18-9-108 & 109 and A.A.C. R18-9-A211(E))

– Public hearing, if necessary
– Incorporation of responses, if necessary

The decision to grant or deny a permit stops LTF

Permits will not be issued until the 
final bill has been paid. 



Licensing Time Frame
•Extension Agreements

– Both parties agree to a maximum of 25 percent added to the 
overall LTF timeframe

– Only one extension allowed per application

•Changed Application Agreements 
–Required by Statute when information in 

the application changes, or another 
component is added or expanded

–No limit on Changed Application 
Agreements



Pre-Application Meeting

Permit Application Submitted

Draft Permit

Public Notice and Comment Period 30-day public 
comment period

Completeness 
Determined

Incomplete

Technical Review
IncompleteSubmit Additional

Information Requested

Submit Additional
Information Requested

Hearing DecisionPublic 
Hearing

Yes

No

Permit Decision
Close of 
Hearing 
Record

35-day allowance for 
completeness determination

ACR

SR



Expedited Review 
A.R.S. §49-241.02(D)
- ADEQ offers a third-party review of applications 

from a list of approved consultants that act as 
agents on behalf of ADEQ

- ADEQ maintains final decision-making authority

- Maximum fee caps must be waived and a contract 
is required; however, LTF regulations still apply

- Typical turn time is 6 months or less, depending 
upon the completeness of the application

- This service is not offered for General Permits or 
Clean Closures



Additional References
ADEQ Webpage 
www.azdeq.gov

Water Quality Permitting Webpage
http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/water/permits/index.html

APP Webpage
http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/water/permits/app.html

Drywell Program Webpage
http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/water/permits/drywell.html

http://www.azdeq.gov/
http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/water/permits/index.html
http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/water/permits/app.html
http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/water/permits/drywell.html

	Slide Number 1
	Slide Number 2
	Rules & Regulations
	Why an APP?
	The big one…
	Definitions
	Slide Number 7
	Slide Number 8
	Slide Number 9
	What kind of permit do I need?
	The Pre-application Meeting
	Words of Wisdom
	The Individual APP 
	BADCT 
	AWQS at the POC 
	Technical Capability R18-9-A202(B)
	Cost Estimates R18-9-A201(B)(5)
	Accepted Financial Mechanisms
	Zoning R18-9-A201(B)(3)
	Help Speed the Process 
	APP Components 
	The Temporary Individual APP 
	Type 2 General Permits 
	Type 3 General Permits 
	Slide Number 25
	Slide Number 26
	Slide Number 27
	Slide Number 28
	Slide Number 29
	Slide Number 30
	Slide Number 31
	Slide Number 32
	Slide Number 33
	Slide Number 34
	Slide Number 35

