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instructions
Every person who applies for a Type 2 Reclaimed Water General Permit, as provided by Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.) Title 18, Chapter 9, Article 7 must file a Notice of Intent to Operate (NOI) required under A.A.C. R18-9-708(B). A separate NOI form must be completed for each reclaimed water activity intended to be covered under a general permit. A person intending to operate under a general permit must comply with all the provisions of the general permit and other applicable requirements of statute and rule. The NOI shall be filed with the Department by certified mail, in person, or by another method approved by the Department on a form provided by the Department, along with any required attachments per Section 5 on the NOI.  The NOI form may be found at http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/water/permits/index.html.  
General information
This Notice of Intent (NOI) is an application to use reclaimed water under 18 A.A.C. 9, Articles 6 and 7, and 18 A.A.C. 11, Article 3. A person holding a Type 2 General Permit for the direct use of reclaimed water is responsible for the correct use of the reclaimed water as stated in the above-referenced rules. Persons seeking approval of this NOI must: 
1. Meet the requirements of Article 7 and the specific terms of the Type 2 General Permit by Class:

a. Class A+ Reclaimed Water General Permit [A.A.C. R18-9-712]

b. Class A Reclaimed Water General Permit [A.A.C. R18-9-713]
c. Class B+ Reclaimed Water General Permit [A.A.C. R18-9-714]
d. Class B Reclaimed Water General Permit [A.A.C. R18-9-715]
e. Class C Reclaimed Water General Permit [A.A.C. R18-9-716]
2. File the NOI form;
3. Please ensure the narrative, design drawings, and any supplemental information provided are comprehensive and adequate to demonstrate conformance with A.A.C. R18-9-712 through R18-9-716.

4. Pay the NON-REFUNDABLE general permit fee (see next section).
5. Satisfy any deficiency requests from the Department.
Fees
	The review fee for Type 2 General Permits is:

Class A+, A, B+, B  --  $600

Class C  -- $750

Payment must accompany this NOI upon submittal to the Department.  Review fees, which are flat rate fees specified in A.A.C. R18-14-110, Table 7, are NON-REFUNDABLE.




Submittal
Submit two copies of this NOI, supplemental documentation, and the fee to the following address:

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality

APP and Reuse Unit

1110 West Washington Street, Mail Code 5415B-3

Phoenix, Arizona  85007

Contact information
For questions about this NOI or about the ADEQ reclaimed water rules or standards, contact the ADEQ Groundwater Section locally at (602) 771-4464, or (800) 234-5677, extension 771-4464.

If a reuse site is located in a Waters of the U.S., contact the ADEQ Surface Water Section at (602) 771-4569 for further instructions; if it is determined to be subject to an AZPDES permit, it shall not be regulated under a reclaimed water permit.

Permit expiration and renewal
ADEQ will send a written Notice of Recording with your permit number and expiration date.  The term of the Permit is five years from the effective date. The permittee shall submit an application for renewal at least 90 days before the expiration date. Type 2 Reclaimed Water General Permits must be renewed in accordance with A.A.C. R18-9-709(A) or they will expire. A Renewal Form may be accessed at http://www.azdeq.gov/environ/water/permits/index.html.  
Permit requirements
	A permittee using Class A+ or B+ Reclaimed Water shall comply with the following:

1.
Maintain records for five years that describe the direct reuse site and the total amount of reclaimed water used annually for the permitted direct reuse activity.  The records shall be made available to the Department upon request.

2.
Post signs as specified in A.A.C. R18-9-704(H).

3.
Comply with the general requirements in A.A.C. R18-9-704 for the use of reclaimed water.

A permittee using Class A, B, or C Reclaimed Water shall comply with the following:

1.
Maintain records containing the following information for five years and make them available to the Department upon request:

a.
The direct use site;

b.
The volume of reclaimed water applied monthly for each category of direct reuse activity listed in A.A.C. 18-11, Article 3, Appendix A;

c.
The total nitrogen concentration of the reclaimed water applied; and

d.
The acreage and type of vegetation to which the reclaimed water is applied.

2.
Report annually to the Department on or before the anniversary date of the Notice of Intent the following information:

a.
The volume of reclaimed water received for each reuse site;

b.
The type of reclaimed water application; and

c.
If used for irrigation, the vegetation and acreage irrigated.

3.
Nitrogen Management.  A permittee shall ensure that:

a.
Impoundments storing reclaimed water allowed by the general permit are lined using a low-hydraulic conductivity artificial or site-specific liner material achieving a calculated discharge rate less than 550 gallons per acre per day; and

b.
The application rates of the reclaimed water are based on one of the following:

i.
The water allotment assigned by the Arizona Department of Water Resources;

ii.
A water balance that considers consumptive use of water by the crop, turf, or landscape vegetation; or

iii.
An alternative method approved by the Department.

4.
Provide a list of impoundments and the liner characteristics and the method chosen from the list in 3.b above.

5.
Post signs as specified in A.A.C. R18-9-704(H).


R18-9-704(H) A permittee shall place and maintain signage at locations specified in Table 1 so the public is informed that reclaimed water is in use and that no one should drink from the system Table 1. Signage Requirements for Direct Reuse Sites
	Reclaimed Water Class
	Hose Bibbs
	Residential Irrigation
	Schoolground Irrigation
	Other Open Access Irrigation
	Restricted Access Irrigation
	Mobile Reclaimed Water Dispersal

	A+
	Each bibb
	Front yard, or all entrances to a subdivision if the signage is supplemented by written yearly notification to individual homeowners by the homeowner's association.
	On premises visible to staff and students
	None
	None
	Back of truck or on tank

	A
	Each bibb
	Front yard, or all entrances to a subdivision if the signage is supplemented by written yearly notification to individual homeowners by the homeowner's association.
	On premises visible to staff and students
	None
	None
	Back of truck or on tank

	B+
	Each bibb
	Direct Reuse Not Allowed
	Direct Reuse Not Allowed
	Direct Reuse Not Allowed
	1. Ingress points 2. On premises or at reasonably spaced intervals not more than 1/4 mile, as applicable to the use 3. Notice on golf score cards, if applicable
	Back of truck or on tank

	B
	Each bibb
	Direct Reuse Not Allowed
	Direct Reuse Not Allowed
	Direct Reuse Not Allowed
	1. Ingress points 2. On premises or at reasonably spaced intervals not more than 1/4 mile, as applicable to the use 3. Notice on golf score cards, if applicable
	Back of truck or on tank

	C
	Each bibb
	Direct Reuse Not Allowed
	Direct Reuse Not Allowed
	Direct Reuse Not Allowed
	1. Ingress points 2. On premises or at reasonably spaced intervals not more than 1/4 mile, as applicable to the use
	Back of truck or on tank


Note: All impoundments with open access including lakes, ponds, ornamental fountains, waterfalls, and other water features shall be posted with signs regardless of the class of reclaimed water.

	1.  Check the Applicable Box 

	With Nitrogen Treatment
	Without Nitrogen Treatment

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

Class A+ Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-712]
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

Class A Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-713]

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

Class B+ Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-714]
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

Class B Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-715]

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

Class C Reclaimed Water [A.A.C. R18-9-716]

	2.  Permittee (End User) (Permittee must sign the Certification of Compliance in #6 on page 2)

	Name 
	     
	Phone
	     

	Title 
	     
	Email
	     

	Name of Company
	     

	Address 
	     

	City
	     
	State
	     
	Zip
	     

	3.  Name of Authorized Contact Person for the Permittee (if applicable)

	Name 
	     
	Phone
	     

	Title
	     
	Email
	     

	Name of Company
	     

	Address
	     

	City
	     
	State
	     
	Zip
	     

	4.  Wastewater Treatment Facility or Blending Facility providing reclaimed water

	Wastewater Treatment Facility, and Aquifer Protection Permit (APP) Number and issue date (if known):

	Name:       
	APP Number:       
	Issue Date:      

	5.  End User/Reuse Site Information

	Site Name
	     

 FORMTEXT 
     

	Site Address or Location (if the site has not address, describe the location)
	     

 FORMTEXT 
     

 FORMTEXT 
     

	
Township, Range, Section, ¼, ¼, ¼.
	                 

	
Latitude and longitude of the approximate center point.
	      o       '       " N        o      '      " W

	Describe the reuse activity, including type of vegetation being irrigated (turf, trees, shrubs, alfalfa, etc.)
	     

	
Approximate acreage (if applicable)
	     

	
Estimated annual volume of reclaimed water to be used
	     

	A map showing the location of each reuse site.
	Please provide as attachment

	For Class A, B, or C reclaimed water ONLY:

Nitrogen management for irrigation sites and information on impoundment liners (see instructions.)
	     

	6.  Certification of Compliance (must be signed by the Permittee as identified in #2 above.)

	I, (print name)      

 FORMTEXT 
     

 FORMTEXT 
     

 FORMTEXT 
     

 FORMTEXT 
     

 FORMTEXT 
     

 FORMTEXT 
      , certify that this Notice of Intent and all attachments were prepared under my direction or authorization and all information is, to the best of my knowledge, true, accurate and complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false information including permit revocation as well as the possibility of fines and imprisonment for knowing violations. I also certify that I have read and understand the requirements to use reclaimed water for beneficial purposes as stated in 18 A.A.C. 9, Articles 6 and 7, and 18 A.A.C. 11, Article 3, and that I shall abide by the terms of these rules. I shall post signs as specified in A.A.C. R18-9-704(H).



	Signature:
	Date: 


	ADEQ USE ONLY

	File and LTF Number
	
	DATE STAMP

	Fee Paid for this Project
	
	

	Check Total
	
	



Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1030:


ADEQ shall not base a licensing decision, in whole or in part, on a requirement or condition not specifically authorized by statute or rule. General authority in a statute does not authorize a requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to it that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition.


Prohibited licensing decisions may be challenged in a private civil action.  Relief may be awarded to the prevailing party against ADEQ, including reasonable attorney fees, damages, and all fees associated with the license application.  


ADEQ employees may not intentionally or knowingly violate the requirement for specific licensing authority. Violation is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal, pursuant to ADEQ’s adopted personnel policy.  ADEQ employees are still afforded the immunity in A.R.S. §§ 12-821.01 and 12-820.02. 
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