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NOTICE OF EXEMPT RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

CHAPTER 2. DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL 

PREAMBLE 

 

1. Sections Affected    Rulemaking Action 

 R18-2-326.01     New Section 

 

2. The statutory authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute and the 

statutes the rules are implementing: 

Authorizing Statutes: Laws 2010, Seventh Special Session, Chapter 7, Section 5 

Implementing Statutes: A.R.S. § 49-426(E)(1) 

 

3. The effective date of the rules:  

July 1, 2010 

 

4. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the exempt rule: 

Notice of Public Information 16 A.A.R. 742, May 7, 2010 

 

5. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding 

the rulemaking. 

 Name:  Danielle M. Dancho  

 Address: Arizona Department of Environmental Quality 

    1110 W. Washington St. 

    Phoenix, AZ 85007 

E-mail:   dmd@azdeq.gov 

Telephone: (602) 771-4210 (This number may be reached in-state by dialing 1-800-234-5677 and 

requesting the seven digit number.) 

 Fax:  (602) 771-2366 

 

6. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule, including the 

statutory citation to the exemption from regular rulemaking procedures: 

In Laws 2010, Seventh Special Session, Chapter 7, Section 5, the Arizona Department of 
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Environmental Quality (ADEQ) was granted authority to increase fees in fiscal year 2010-2011 for 

services in fiscal year 2010-2011. As stated in Laws 2010, Seventh Special Session, Chapter 7, 

Section 5, the legislative intent is that the additional revenue generated by the fee increases for the 

entire agency not exceed $5,779,100. ADEQ has complied with Section 5, paragraph (B) of the 

session law and submitted a specific fee plan for legislative consideration by April 1, 2010, which 

resulted in several rulemakings including this one. 

 

Laws 2010, Seventh Special Session, Chapter 7, Section 5, states that ADEQ is “exempt from the rule 

making requirements of title 41, chapter 6, Arizona Revised Statutes, for the purpose of establishing 

fees pursuant to this section until July 1, 2011.” 

 

ADEQ examined multiple fees across its three divisions that generate fees, Air Quality, Waste 

Programs, and Water Quality. ADEQ considered the stability of the funding resource, impact on 

stakeholders, and the revenue shortfall projected for fiscal year 2011. In light of those considerations, 

ADEQ is adding rule R18-2-326.01, which will increase emissions fees for fiscal year 2011 paid by 

Class I Title V sources that have undergone initial startup by January 1, 2009. The addition of rule 

R18-2-326.01 will increase fees for every Class I Title V facility within the State.  Every facility will 

be required to pay an additional $20.82 per ton of emissions and will pay the same emissions fee. The 

increase in emissions fees is anticipated to generate approximately $1,294,300 in additional revenue 

that will be used to fund the services of ADEQ in fiscal year 2011. 

 

7. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and either relied on it its 

evaluation of or justification for the rule or did not rely on in its evaluation or justification for 

the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study, all data underlying each study, and 

any analysis of each study and other supporting material: 

The April 1, 2010 plan, as required by Laws 2010, Seventh Special Session, Chapter 7, Section 5. 

 

8. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule 

will diminish a previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state: 

Not applicable 

 

9. The summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact: 

Laws 2010, Seventh Special Session, Chapter 7, Section 5, authorizes exemption from the rulemaking 

requirements of A.R.S. Title 41, Chapter 6, for the purpose of establishing fees pursuant to this 
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Section until July 1, 2011. As a result, this rulemaking is exempt from the requirements of the 

Administrative Procedures Act and no economic, small business, and consumer impact statement is 

required. 

 

10. A description of the changes between the proposed rules, including supplemental notices, and 

final rules (if applicable):  

Not applicable 

 

11. A summary of the comments made regarding the rule and the agency response to them:  

ADEQ is providing public notice and an opportunity for public comment on these rules. See ADEQ’s 

website, http://www.azdeq.gov, for further information. Written comments on the exempt rules must 

be received by close of business June 7, 2010. 

 

Laws 2010, Seventh Special Session, Chapter 7, Section 5, authorizes exemption from the rulemaking 

requirements of A.R.S. Title 41, Chapter 6, for the purpose of establishing fees pursuant to this 

Section until July 1, 2011. As an exempt rulemaking, this rule will not need to be approved by the 

Governor’s Regulatory Review Council, and no hearing will be held. 

 

12. Any other matters prescribed by statutes that are applicable to the specific agency or any 

specific rule or class of rules: 

None 

 

13. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules: 

None 

 

14. Was this rule previously made as an emergency rule?  If so, please indicate the Register 

citation: 

No 

 

15. The full text of the rule follows: 
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TITLE 18.  ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

CHAPTER 2.  DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL 

 

ARTICLE 3.  PERMITS AND PERMIT REVISIONS 

Section 

R18-2-326.01 Emissions-Based Fee Increase Related to Individual Permits for Fiscal Year 2011 
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ARTICLE 3. PERMITS AND PERMIT REVISIONS 

 

R18-2-326.01 Emissions-Based Fee Increase Related to Individual Permits for Fiscal Year 2011 

In addition to the emissions-based fees required under R18-2-326(C) for Class I Title V sources for 

Calendar Year 2008, a one-time emissions-based fee of $20.82 per ton of actual emissions of all regulated 

pollutants emitted during Calendar Year 2008 shall be due within 30 days of the invoice postmark date 

for the increased fee. 

 


