
 

-30- 

DATE: Jan. 10, 2008 
CONTACT: Mark Shaffer, Director of Communications, (602) 771-2215 

ADEQ Issues Draft Clean-Car Rules to Cut Greenhouse Gas 
Emissions from Vehicles  

PHOENIX (Jan. 10, 2008) -- Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) 
Director Steve Owens announced today that ADEQ has issued draft rules to cut greenhouse 
gas emissions (GHG) from vehicles and filed its notice of proposed rule making with the 
Secretary of State’s Office.  
 
The new rules are being developed pursuant to an Executive Order on climate change issued 
last year by Gov. Janet Napolitano. The Arizona Climate Change Advisory Group (CCAG), 
which Gov. Napolitano appointed, unanimously recommended that Arizona adopt the new 
GHG reduction standards. 
  
The proposed rules include tailpipe emission standards for new vehicles, requirements for the 
sale of some zero-emissions vehicles in the state and reduction of greenhouse gas emissions 
overall from new vehicles sold in Arizona.  
 
“This is an important step toward reducing greenhouse gas emissions in Arizona and is a 
critical element in our effort to address climate change,” ADEQ Director Owens said. “Our 
goal is to have a final rule approved by late spring or early summer.” 
 
During 1990-2005, greenhouse gas emissions in Arizona grew by 56 percent, the fastest rate 
of growth in the country. If unchecked, Arizona’s GHG emissions are projected to grow by 
140 percent between 1990-2020 and by 200 percent between 1990-2040. Roughly 40 percent 
of Arizona’s GHG emissions come from vehicles.  
 
“If we’re going to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in Arizona we need to cut emissions 
from vehicles,” Director Owens said. 
 
The rules will apply to vehicles beginning with the 2011 model year. Arizona’s rules will be 
based on the Clean Car program adopted by the State of California. States are authorized 
under the federal Clean Air Act to adopt California’s vehicle emissions standards.  
 
California’s standards will become effective when the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
grants a waiver to California under the Clean Air Act.  EPA announced in late December that 
it had decided to deny the waiver to California. Arizona has joined 15 other states in a lawsuit 
brought by California against the EPA to reverse EPA’s decision to deny the waiver and to 
uphold the right of states to regulate greenhouse gas pollution from automobiles. 
 
In addition to California, 12 other states have adopted the California GHG vehicle standards. 
They are Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Mexico, New York, New 
Jersey, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington. Along with Arizona, 
at least four other states – Colorado, Florida, Montana and Utah – also have announced plans 
to adopt the California GHG vehicle standards. 


