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Regulatory Review Council Approves Clean-Car Rules to Cut
Greenhouse Gas Emissions

PHOENIX (May 7, 2008) — The Governor’s Regulatory Review Council (GRRC) on
Tuesday voted 5-2 to approve ADEQ’s proposed rules to cut greenhouse gas emissions
(GHG) from automobiles and other passenger vehicles. GRRC is the body that must
review all state regulations before they can become law.

“Because vehicles produce roughly 40 percent of all GHG emissions in Arizona, these
rules are an extremely important step for our state in doing our share to address climate
change,” ADEQ Director Steve Owens said. “If we are going to reduce greenhouse gas
emissions in Arizona, we have to reduce emissions from vehicles.”

The new Clean Car rules will reduce GHG emissions from passenger cars and light trucks
by 37 percent by 2016.

Arizona has the fastest rate of growth of GHG emissions in the country. Between 1990
and 2005 Arizona’s GHG emissions grew by nearly 56 percent, roughly two-and-a-half
times the national average. If unchecked, Arizona’s GHG emissions are projected to
grow by 140 percent over 1990 levels by the year 2020 and by 200 percent over 1990
levels by 2040.

The rules were developed pursuant to an Executive Order on climate change issued in
September 2006 by Gov. Janet Napolitano. The Arizona Climate Change Advisory
Group (CCAG) had unanimously recommended that Arizona adopt the Clean Car
standards to reduce Arizona GHG emissions.

Arizona joins California, Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, New
Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington
State in having adopted the Clean Car standards. Other states, including Utah, Montana
and Florida, have said they intend to adopt the rules as well.

The rules will apply to vehicles beginning with the 2012 model year. The rules cannot go

into effect, however, until EPA grants approval for them. EPA has refused to approve the
rules so far, and 15 states, including Arizona, have sued EPA over its refusal.
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