

Budget & Finance Director Briant, Other ADEQ Employees Honored for Stellar Work during Annual Awards Ceremony

PHOENIX (Dec. 9, 2014) – Arizona Department of Environmental Quality Budget and Finance Director David Briant received the Director's Excellence Award and 10 other individuals and four teams were also honored for their outstanding job performance during 2014 at ADEQ's annual awards event at its Phoenix headquarters.

"We have been incredibly lucky to have David on our team during these reduced budget years," ADEQ Director Henry Darwin said. "His expert advice and eye for available budget resources have really made a difference."

Other individual award winners were:

- Stacie Cameron of Office of Budget and Strategic Management for her above and beyond efforts in getting the agency's annual Executive Budget Request completed by deadline.
- Hazel Cox of ADEQ's Southern Regional Office in Tucson for finding a way to show graphically how exposure pathways could be eliminated in work at state superfund sites.
- Jade Dickens of Water Quality Division for beginning use of electronic, fillable forms for water quality data entry in the field, saving much time with the process improvement.
- Ginger LaBine of the Human Potential Office for leading the agency's greatly improved training and employee engagement efforts with an enthusiastic attitude.
- Jonny Malloy of Air Quality Division for identifying and pioneering new tools that allow dust storms to be viewed in three-dimensional graphics.
- Jaclyn Palermo of Waste Programs Division for greatly increasing the number of waste facilities in compliance with environmental regulations.

-MORE-

To receive press releases by email: <u>http://www.azdeq.gov/subscribe.html</u> Follow ADEQ on Facebook: <u>http://www.facebook.com/azdeq</u> Follow ADEQ on Twitter: <u>http://twitter.com/ArizonaDEQ</u>



- Craig Pearson of Air Quality Division for effective oversight of the agency's air pollution monitors and compliance with EPA requirements.
- Tara Rosie of Waste Programs Division for her oversight efforts in developing improved methods resulting in faster cleanups of leaking underground storage tanks.
- Deborah Schadewald-Kohler of Water Quality Division for developing spreadsheets and checklists that make drinking water inspections more efficient.
- Alex Talladen of Office of Communications and Outreach for creating visually compelling graphics and publications that enhance the agency's brand.

The winning teams were:

- Solid Waste Inspections and Compliance team of Heather Blanchard, Jaclyn Palermo, Ramon Rivera, Lori Plato, Ethan Leiter, Daniel Salzler, Anthony Stone and Joshua Li.
- Stormwater and General Permits Unit team of Sandra Francis, Nicole Coronado, Joanie Rhyner, Christopher Henninger, Lavinia Wright, Jennifer Widlowski and Spencer York.
- Human Potential Office of Christina Vega, Chris Weakland, Yadira Price, Enrique Guillen, Alicia Pollard, Elizabeth Thorson and Trinity Madrid.
- Air Quality Inspections and Field Services Unit of Brian Jones, Tracy Neal, Pamela Nocola, Travis Behrens, Michael Smith, Timothy Trestrail, Adam Bankhead, Emily Bonanni and Robert Verville.