

Arizona
Department of
Water
Resources



Arizona Corporation Commission



## **NEWS RELEASE**

## Second Meeting of Water Sustainability Panel on Friday

PHOENIX (Feb. 4, 2010) – The second meeting of the Governor's Blue Ribbon Panel on Water Sustainability will be conducted at 10 a.m. Friday, Feb. 5 in Room 3175 of the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality building, located at 1110 W. Washington.

The panel, which was formed in response to Gov. Jan Brewer's call for improved statewide water sustainability in a variety of ways including increased recycling and conservation, conducted its first meeting Jan. 8. It is co-chaired by Arizona Department of Water Resources Director Herb Guenther, Arizona Corporation Commission Chairman Kris Mayes, and Arizona Department of Environmental Quality Director Benjamin H. Grumbles.

Among the agenda topics for Friday's meeting are presentations on reclaimed water trends, a review of authority over the state water and reclaimed water, and survey results of perceptions about the use of reclaimed water in Arizona.

The following members have been invited to serve on the panel:

Mary Alexander, vice president and general counsel of DMB Developments in Scottsdale

Mike Anable, Gov. Jan Brewer's natural resources policy advisor in Phoenix

Rep. Ray Barnes of District 7 in Phoenix

Ray Benally, water resources manager for Navajo Nation in Window Rock

Paul Bonavia, chairman, president and chief executive office of Tucson Electric Power in Tucson

Steve Brophy, owner of Page Land & Cattle Co. in Phoenix

Kevin Burke, Flagstaff city manager

Brenda Burman, program director, The Nature Conservancy in Flagstaff

Tom Buschatzke, water adviser, City of Phoenix

Guy Carpenter, president of National WateReuse Association in Phoenix

Kathleen Chavez, wastewater management program for Pima County in Tucson

Tom Davis, manager of Yuma County Water Users' Association in Yuma

Ron Doba, president of Az WateReuse Association in Phoenix

Len Drago, Environmental Health Services manager for Intel in Chandler

Carol Erwin, area manager for U.S. Bureau of Reclamation in Glendale

John Gall, president of Arizona Association of Realtors, of Lake Havasu City

Second Meeting of Water Sustainability Panel on Friday 02/04/2010 2-2-2

Trevor Hill, president of Global Water in Phoenix

John Kmiec, water division environmental and regulatory compliance supervisor, City of Tucson

John R. Lewis, executive director of Inter-Tribal Council of Arizona in Phoenix

Robert Lotts, water resources manager for Arizona Public Service Co. in Phoenix

State Rep. Lucy Mason of District 1 in Prescott

Dr. Sharon Megdal, director of University of Arizona Water Resources Research Center in Tucson

David Modeer, general manager of Central Arizona Project in Phoenix

State Sen. John Nelson of District 12 in Glendale

Bonnie O'Connor, president of Southwestern Utility Management in Tucson

Steve Olson, executive director of Arizona Municipal Water Users Association in Phoenix

Ron Rayner, farmer/irrigator from Maricopa County

Mike Rutherford, chairman of Upper San Pedro Water District in Sierra Vista

Leroy Shingoitewa, president of Hopi Nation in Kykotsmovi

David Snider, Pinal County supervisor in Casa Grande

Ken Strobeck, executive director of Arizona League of Cities and Towns in Phoenix

John Sullivan, associate general manager for Salt River Project in Phoenix

Warren Tenney, assistant general manager of Metro Drinking Water Improvement District in Tucson

Marsha Thompson, president of Grand Canyon State Electric Cooperatives Inc. in Phoenix

Paul Townsley, president of Arizona-American Water in Phoenix

Chris Udall, executive director of Agri-Business Council of AZ in Mesa

Lyn White, vice president of Freeport-McMoRan in Phoenix

Members of the panel or their designees will meet over the next several months to offer recommendations by the end of the year for better water and reclaimed water management. The blue-ribbon panel will discuss the specifics in five work groups which will be open to broad public participation to discuss key issues.

Mark Shaffer - Comm. Dir. - ADEQ 1110 W. Washington, Phoenix, AZ. (602)771-2215 (o) shaffer.mark@azdeq.gov Colleen Lane - ADWR 3550 N. Central Ave., Phoenix, AZ (602) 771-8426 (o) cklane@azwater.gov Rebecca Wilder – PIO - ACC 1200 W. Washington, Phoenix, AZ (602) 542-0844 (o) rwilder@azcc.gov