1110 West Washington Street • Phoenix, Arizona 85007 • azdeq.gov

DATE: Dec. 17, 2013

CONTACT: Mark Shaffer, Media Relations Director, (602) 771-2215 (o); (480)

433-9551 (cell)

## 40 ADEQ Employees Honored for Outstanding Job Performance at 2013 Annual Awards Event

PHOENIX (Dec. 17, 2013) – The Arizona Department of Environmental Quality recognized 40 employees for outstanding job performance at the department's 2013 annual awards event held Dec. 5 at its Phoenix headquarters.

"This year we recognized several employee teams that brainstormed creative ideas and implemented projects to streamline our processes and dramatically improve efficiency in our work flow," said ADEQ Director Henry Darwin.

The department recognized the Air Quality Special Projects Unit (**Teresa Mackey**, **Heather Colson, Ceresa Stewart** and **Andy Clifton**) for eliminating the most delays in its processes for developing Quality Assurance Program plans.

The department also recognized a team (**Tarun Sinha, Tim Trestrail, Rob Arpine, Amelia Peterson, Marina Mejia** and **Pam Nicola**) whose ideas for standardizing forms and using checklists reduced overall time to complete stack tests from 240 days to 67 days, which, in turn, significantly reduced costs.

The Underground Storage Tank State Lead Unit (John Robertson, David Pettigrew, Brent Mitchell, Laura Morales, Mark Rhoades, Jason Kocer, Mike Latin, Samar Bhuyan, Andrea Baca, Debi Goodwin and Richard Brunton) was recognized for implementing the highest number of process improvements, while the Waste Programs Division's Site Investigation and Remediation Unit (Tiffany Yee, Mike Harren, Amy Phalen, Calvina Ashley, Sam Rogers, Charles Hallas and Don Spencer) was singled out for devising the most transferrable process improvement.

The department recognized a Water Quality Division team (Mohamed Hegazy, Monica Phillips, Ramona Rodriguez, David Haag, Luke Peterson and Jeff Emde) for implementing an innovative approach using lobby staff to process walk-in drywell applications, and the Water Quality Division's Compliance Data Unit (Lucy Ruiz, Kolena Locksa, Mike Tenczar, Marcia Colquitt, Linda Seeley and Tracy Bunch) was recognized for its project to reduce the number of errors in Self-Monitoring Report submittals.

To receive press releases by email: <a href="http://www.azdeq.gov/subscribe.html">http://www.azdeq.gov/subscribe.html</a>
Follow ADEQ on Facebook: <a href="http://www.facebook.com/azdeq">http://www.facebook.com/azdeq</a>
Follow ADEQ on Twitter: <a href="http://twitter.com/ArizonaDEQ">http://twitter.com/ArizonaDEQ</a>